Friday, January 23, 2009

Tom Friedman and Classroom 2.0


I'm a member of Classroom 2.0, a social network comprised of educators interested in shaping the future of teaching and learning. It's a great network of educators built on top of ning, a site which allows users to create their own custom social networks. It's great to find like-minded educators trying to transform their classrooms into classroom 2.0.

Here's an announcement from the group on a live webinar tomorrow at 9am EST of Tom Friedman speaking to the students at the Flat Classrooms Conference in Doha, Qatar. If you're up early on Saturday morning, this might we worth checking out.
A message to all members of Classroom 2.0

Our kick-off event tomorrow (January 24th) for Future of Education will start an hour early in order to "simulcast" remarks being made by Tom Friedman, author of The World is Flat, to the students at the Flat Classrooms Conference in Doha, Qatar. More details at http://www.futureofeducation.com/forum/topics/the-flat-classrooms-debate.

Here's the updated schedule:

Date: Saturday, January 24, 2009

Time:
6am Pacific / 9am Easter / 2pm GMT: Live stream of Tom Friedman addressing students (international times here)
7am Pacific / 10am Eastern / 3pm GMT: Flat Classroom Debates begin (international times here).

Location: In Elluminate. Log in at https://sas.elluminate.com/m.jnlp?sid=2008350&password=M.3969DF972F394F21CAF665EF3F3896. The Elluminate room will be open up to 30 minutes before the event if you want to come in early.

To make sure that your computer is configured for Elluminate, please visit http://www.elluminate.com/support. Video, audio, and chat recordings will be posted at the Future of Education community after the show.

Steve

Steve Hargadon
Founder, Classroom 2.0
www.stevehargadon.com
steve@hargadon.com

Visit Classroom 2.0 at: http://www.classroom20.com

1 comment:

tapsearcher said...

For a reveiw of The World is Flat by Thomas Friedman from the streets of USA, see http://tapsearch.com/flatworld
Friedman rides planes and trains around the world talking to world leaders, when all he has to do it talk to cab drivers from all around the world in our major cities. The World is Flat is a "corker"- see site for connotation.
Also note the voids in education - the unnetted - at http://ezinearticles.com/?id=1212212

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...